CCC 50th Anniversary Celebrations Dinner
with Guest-of-Honour Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong
People’s Association Headquarters
24 Oct 2015 (Sat) 6.30pm – 10pm

Danny Yeo was one of the co-hosts for this event. 1600 guests turned up for the 50th anniversary of Citizens’ Consultative Committees (CCCs), with Chairman of the People’s Association (PA), Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong as the Guest of Honour. In attendance were many other ministers including Deputy Chairman of PA, Minister Chan Chun Sing, Deputy Prime Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam, Minister Lawrence Wong, Minister Grace Fu, Special Adviser to PA Chairman, Mr Lim Boon Heng, Chief Executive Director of PA, Mr Ang Hak Seng BBM, Chairman of the Organising Committee, Mr Goh Peng Tong BBM, and Organising Committee members.

The CCCs have been a critical component connecting the Government with citizens. First established in 1965, the CCCs sought to help relay the residents’ views to the Government before policies are implemented. They also helped to take care of residents who were less well-to-do. CCCs played a critical role in uniting the people together as one, amidst turbulent times where racial riots were happening. Flash forward 50 years later and CCCs celebrated its 50th birthday in 2015 – an incredible journey indeed!

A highlight of the night was a group of 500 Pioneer Generation Grassroots Leaders, who have toiled tirelessly in the early days so that we can enjoy racial and religious harmony in our society today.

Over the last 50 years, various divisions within the CCCs have tailored their programmes and activities to meet Singaporeans’ changing demands and aspirations. All these are only possible with the grassroots leaders’ dedication and passion in organising activities to promote bonding between residents and install a sense of Kampong spirit in them.

At the celebration, a CCC 50th Anniversary Commemorative Book was launched and a First Day Cover with the CCC 50th Anniversary Commemorative Stamp designed by ITE student Miss Mavis Tan Jia Lin was presented. Eight Pioneer Generation Grassroots Leaders were also honoured with the inaugural 50-year Jubilee Award recognising their contributions in PA for at least 50 years.